Staff and Board


Jonathan Lockyer: Executive Director & Curator

Jon Lockyer is a curator, educator, and writer from Toronto, Ontario. Lockyer’s interest as a curator focuses on issues of social and political engagement, and that challenges the aesthetic and pedagogical boundaries of contemporary art. More specifically, Lockyer is interested in Indigenous art and curatorial practices that have originated in North America since the early 1960s. Lockyer received his BA from Trent University in Canadian Studies, and recently completed an MFA at OCAD University in Criticism and Curatorial Practice. He has worked previously at the Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (Santa Fe, NM), the Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto, ON) and C Magazine.

Bec Groves: Associate Director – Programming & Development

Bec Groves joined Artspace in the spring of 2015, she received a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Mount Allison University and has a diploma in Non-Profit Arts Management from Western University. 

Hannah Keating: Assistant Curator

Hannah Keating was born and raised in Peterborough, ON. After completing an undergraduate degree in art history, she acquired her MA in Art History at Carleton University with the support of a SSHRC Graduate Scholarship. She has held curatorial and programming positions at the Winnipeg Art Gallery, the University of Manitoba School of Art Gallery, Artspace (Peterborough, ON), and the Robert McLaughlin Gallery (Oshawa, ON). In 2018, she worked with the Electric City Culture Council (EC3), Peterborough’s municipal arts council, to develop and implement the city’s first arts awards program and was Artistic Producer of Artsweek 2018. Currently, she is the Assistant Curator at Artspace. She is committed to opening cultural spaces to diverse voices and perspectives and is presently engaged in arts and accessibility research to better embrace disability in the arts sector. Keating is also the Artist Residency and Community Gallery Coordinator at the Robert McLaughlin Gallery where she is responsible for curating the annual exhibition program in Gallery A and coordinating the RBC Emerging Artist Residency program.

Susan Newman: Bookkeeper

Board of Directors

Cydnee Hosker (Chair & Treasurer)

Scott Bucsis (Secretary)

Steve Blair 

Jill Snoddon

Andrew Ihamaki

Andrea Barrett  

Eryn Lidster

Jonathan Semugaza

Camille Georgeson-Usher

Heidi Sidky

Patrick Moore (Ex-officio Member)

Jeff Macklin (Ex-officio Member)